Day trip to Kimolos

Kimolos in the evening sun
Kimolos in the evening sun
Psathi harbour
Psathi harbour
Chora and Psathi
Chora and Psathi

Milos itself is definitely very tranquil, at least out of season. But the neighbouring island of Kimolos offers Greek island flair of an especially rustic nature. Anyone who values peace and seclusion should plan at least one day trip to Kimolos. This island is only sparsely populated and the north and west are mainly inaccessible. Besides a few scattered settlements, there are only Chora and the harbour village of Psathi. The point of a visit to Kimolos should certainly not be to see or experience as much as possible. Kimolos offers an opportunity simply just to relax and enjoy the calming distance from the nearest outpost of civilisation, whether it’s a stroll through peaceful Kastro, a picnic by the windmills or on one of the beaches on the south coast.

The heart of Chora is the medieval Kastro quarter which has for the most part retained its outermost ring of houses. A stroll through Kastro clearly shows how people had once tried to protect themselves from pirate attacks with this fortress-like arrangement of the houses.

View from Chora towards Polyegos. This uninhabited neighbouring island is not only a favourite destination for tourist boat trips but in the summer it also attracts would-be oligarchs with their superyachts.

Crossing to Kimolos

The best connection between Milos and Kimolos is the little Panagia Faneromeni car ferry (known as “Pantofla”) connecting Pollonia and Psathi. If you have a vehicle, you should definitely take it with you to Kimolos. Even the footpath from the harbour up the steep road to Chora may otherwise spoil your fun. In addition to the little Kimolos ferry, many other bigger ferries call into Kimolos if it lies on their route. But I have tried this approach only once to date on the way back after missing the Panagia Faneromeni.

Skiadi, the "Mushroom Stone"

A separate section is devoted to visiting the spectacular Mushroom Stone on Kimolos.

Update 05/20

Tagesausflug nach Kimolos

Kimolos in der Abendsonne
Hafen Psathi
Chora und Psathi

Milos selber ist ja zumindest außerhalb der Saison schon recht beschaulich. Die Nachbarinsel Kimolos bietet jedoch griechisches Inselflair der besonders rustikalen Art. Wer Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit schätzt, sollte zumindest einmal einen Tagesausflug nach Kimolos einplanen. Die Insel ist nur spärlich besiedelt, der Norden und der Westen sind weitgehend unzugänglich. Außer ein paar zerstreuten Siedlungen gibt es lediglich Chora und den Hafenort Psathi. Der Sinn eines Besuches in Kimolos sollte es sicherlich nicht sein, möglichst viel zu sehen oder zu erleben. Kimolos bietet die Chance, einfach nur zu entspannen und die beruhigende Distanz zur nächstgelegenen Zivilisation zu genießen. Ob bei einem Spaziergang durch das stille Kastro, einem Picknick bei den Windmühlen oder an einem der Strände an der Südküste.

Das Herz von Chora ist das mittelalterliche Kastroviertel, dessen äußerer Häuserring größtenteils erhalten ist. Ein Spaziergang durch das Kastro veranschaulicht deutlich, wie man sich früher durch diese festungsartige Anordnung der Häuser vor Piratenüberfällen zu schützen versuchte.  

Blick von Chora in Richtung Polyegos. Die unbewohnte Nachbarinsel ist nicht nur ein beliebtes Ziel für touristische Bootsausflüge, sondern lockt im Sommer auch mutmaßliche Oligarchen mit ihren Superyachten an.

Überfahrt nach Kimolos

Die beste Verbindung zwischen Milos und Kimolos ist die kleine Autofähre Panagia Faneromeni (genannt "Pantofla"), die Pollonia und Psathi verbindet. Sofern man über ein Fahrzeug verfügt, sollte man dieses in jedem Fall nach Kimolos mitnehmen. Bereits der Fußweg vom Hafen die steile Straße hinauf nach Chora kann einem ansonsten den Spaß verderben. Zusätzlich zur kleinen "Kimolos-Fähre" legen auch manche großen Fähren je nach Streckenführung einen Stopp in Kimolos ein. Ich habe diese Variante aber bisher nur einmal auf dem Rückweg genutzt, nachdem ich die Panagia Faneromeni verpasst hatte.

Update 07/18